Tuesday, August 11, 2015

Book Review: Her Sister's Shoes by Ashley Farley


Media Type: Ebook
Title: Her Sister's Shoes
Author: Ashley Farley
Publisher: Self-published
Pages: Paperback; 320
Release Date: June 24, 2015
Source: TLC Book Tours / Author
---------------------------------------------------
Genre: Contemporary Fiction

HDB Rating: 4 Keys to My Heart

Recommended to: Readers who enjoy family dramas, and aren't afraid to get a bit teary eyed.

Add it on: Goodreads | Amazon | BookLikes
Set in the South Carolina Lowcountry and packed with Southern charm and memorable characters, Her Sister’s Shoes is the story of three sisters—Samantha, Jackie, and Faith—who struggle to balance the demands of career and family while remaining true to themselves.

Samantha Sweeney has always been the glue that holds her family together, their go-to girl for love and support. When an ATV accident leaves her teenage son in a wheelchair, she loses her carefully constructed self-control.

In the after-gloom of her dreaded fiftieth birthday and the discovery of her husband’s infidelity, Jackie realizes she must reconnect with her former self to find the happiness she needs to move forward.

Faith lacks the courage to stand up to her abusive husband. She turns to her sisters for help, placing all their lives at risk.

In the midst of their individual challenges, the Sweeney sisters must cope with their mother’s mental decline. Is Lovie in the early stages of Alzheimer’s, or is her odd behavior normal for a woman her age? No one, including Lovie, understands her obsession with a rusty key she wears around her neck.

For fans of Elin Hildebrand, Her Sister’s Shoes is a contemporary women’s novel that explores and proves the healing power of family.

This book was a pleasant surprise. I'm always willing to sink into a family story, especially when the characters feel realistic. Her Sister's Shoes delivers exactly that. A family full of strong women, each facing down their own problems. A family with a love that transcends anything that comes their way, even when it seems impossible. I was so lost in this book, that I barely set it down. Which is saying a lot, since this story isn't always the happiest one.

Sam, Jackie and Faith were so very different from one another. Ashley Farley built a unique life for each of these women, and it was so interesting to see how they interacted with one another. Sam, a single mother with a disabled teenager. Jackie, the one who married well and built the "perfect" life. Faith, a loving mother in a bad relationship. If you're thinking that there is a lot of drama brewing here, you'd be right. Be warned, there is violence and depression in this story. You'll likely need tissues to make it through.

What I liked most about Her Sister's Shoes was the vivid picture of family love that was laid out in front of me. These sisters couldn't have been more different, and each was dealing with their own brand of crazy. However the one thing that remained true was that they were there for one another. What can I say? I'm a sucker for sister stories. At the end of the day, all you have is your family. Sure, it was a little predictable at times, I'll be honest. I foresaw a lot of what was coming. Still, it was easy to forgive that and just enjoy this for what it was.

My one gripe, and I suppose I should have expected this, was that everything ties up too neatly. There is so much going on in this book. Sam's family is dealing with everything from domestic abuse, to an ailing parent. Truly, it's a lot for any one family. Despite all of that, I was willing to suspend disbelief and read on. I kept hoping that the ending would be something unique. Something poignant. Instead, predictably, it all wrapped up with a happy little bow.

Final verdict? A great story for people who love reading about family love. Get a box of tissues though. You're going to need them.


FTC Disclosure: I received a copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion.

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails