Tuesday, March 5, 2019

Book Review: Operation Frog Effect by Sarah Sheerger


Media Type: Print Book (ARC)
Title: Operation Frog Effect
Author: Sarah Sheerger
Publisher: Random House BYR
Pages: Hardcover; 320
Release Date: February 26, 2019
Source: Publisher
-----------------------------------------
Age Group: 3rd - 6th Grade

HDB Rating: 4 Keys to My Heart

Recommended to: Readers who are looking for a fun, poignant read from the POV of some amazing 5th graders!

Add it on: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N
If one small act can create a ripple across the universe . . . what happens when a whole group of kids join together and act?
Told in eight perspectives--including one in graphic novel form--Operation Frog Effect is perfect for fans of Andrew Clements, Rob Buyea, and Sarah Weeks, and for anyone who wants to make a difference.

Hi--It's us, Ms. Graham's class. We didn't mean to mess things up. But we did. We took things too far, and now Ms. Graham is in trouble--for something we did. We made a mistake. The question is, can we fix it? Ms. Graham taught us that we get to choose the kind of people we want to be and that a single act can create ripples. So get ready, world--we're about to make some ripples.Sincerely,
Kayley, Kai, Henry, Aviva, Cecilia, Blake, Sharon, Emily (and Kermit, class frog)

Everyone makes mistakes. But what happens when your mistake hurts someone else? Told in eight perspectives--including one in graphic novel form, Operation Frog Effect celebrates standing up and standing together, and tells the unforgettable story of how eight very different kids take responsibility for their actions and unite for a cause they all believe in.
Oh, wow. Seriously. That's pretty much the extent of my ability to actually review this book right now, because I am so gosh darn impressed with it. Have you been burning to read a book from the perspective of an amazing class of 5th graders, that will leave you wanting to be a better person at the end of it? Well, welcome to that book. I've stated before how much I love when authors don't talk down to this age group of readers, and how important it is to treat them with respect. Sarah Sheerger does that, and more. This book is full of real life issues, seen through the eyes of the children living them. It's a beautiful, beautiful thing. Prepare for some gushing.

First off, I have so much love for the way that this story is told. Ms. Graham's class is spending the year journaling and writing one another letters, so this story is a compilation of those musings. What I loved though, was that Sheerger really channeled the kids and their personalities. Some wrote in poems, some in perfectly written letters, and one in wonderful mini comic form. Each of the students had their own perfectly formed quirks, and they shone through their writing. Getting to know them was a lot of fun, and watching them interact with one another while growing was fantastic!

As I mentioned above, this book is also packed to the brim with all kinds of wonderful messages. These kids are truly amazing. With the help of their teacher, they learn to find their true passions and speak out for what they believe in. I smiled as I watched them research social issues, and truly discuss them like adults. My eyes misted over when the class did a social experiment to go along with learning about Anne Frank, and the kids actually learned something from it. I can't say enough about how well this book tackles everything from immigration to rough home lives. There will be so many young readers who will finally get to see themselves, and issues that are very real to them, depicted on the page. It makes me teary eyed just thinking about it.

Long story short, this is a stellar read. I recommend that it be put into the hands of every young reader out there, and discussed in classes or at home. There is so much in this book that our young people really need, and I can't gush enough. Pick this up, and share it with others.





FTC Disclosure: I received a copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion.

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails