Wednesday, April 20, 2011

Book Review: Unsavory Delicacies



Media Type: Book
Title: Unsavory Delicacies
Author: Russell Brooks
Publisher: Self-published
Pages: Ebook; 22
Release Date: April 21, 2011
Source: Author
-------------------------------------------
Genre: Thriller / Mystery

HDB Rating: 4 Keys to My Heart

Recommended to: Readers looking for a book of short stories with some thrill attached!

Add it on: Goodreads / Shelfari / Amazon 
A three-course story collection with a side-order of revenge.

For fans of Barry Eisler, Robert Ludlum, and Clive Cussler. Three short stories of suspense with unsavory results.

Crème Brulé—Rogue operative, Monique Beauvais, cons a software genius into selling her a coveted technology that would allow its user to control CIA drones while they’re in flight. And she will go as far as killing him in public in order to have it.

To the Last Bite—A renowned food critic—whose scathing reviews have closed down restaurants—gets a savoury surprise.

Shashlyk and Morezhenoe—CIA operative, Ridley Fox, leads a team against one of Russia’s most powerful crime families. He discovers secrets, but not one that he was expecting to find.

Three stories with three consequences. All containing three Unsavory Delicacies.

Short story compilations are becoming a bit of an addiction to me lately. I think of them as the perfect bite-sized snack of reading. Just enough to sate you, but also to keep you coming back for more! That being said, when Russell Brooks asked me to review his newest project, Unsavory Delicacies, I jumped at the chance. I've already had the pleasure of reading Pandora's Succession, his first book, and loved it. Needless to say I had high hopes for this one as well. Below are my bite-sized reviews of each story within.

Crème Brulé
This is the first story in the book, and thus the one that had to catch my attention to keep me reading. Luckily I wasn't let down. This story had intrigue, trickery, and even a femme fatale. Featuring a character who I know quite well from Russell Brook's previous book, this was one that I literally devoured. See, Ridley Fox vowed revenge after his past excursions. I can't deny that I was a little disappointed he didn't get that before we left him. In this story...well let's just say everyone gets their just desserts. 

To the Last Bite
Oh, this story. What do I say about this story? First off, in a matter of sentences Russell Brooks is able to build a vivid character. I could picture Dennis Kirby, the food critic, in my mind. After eating the best meal he's ever had, Dennis cannot seem to place the chef that he thanks. Who is he? A twist my friends. That's all I can say without giving anything away. Suffice it to say that this one greatly appealed to the side of me that enjoys a bit of dark humor now and then.

Shashlyk and Morezhenoe
I'll admit the title of this one had me a bit stumped at first, but after reading the story I got it! Very clever. By far my favorite story of the bunch, Ridley Fox once again takes center stage! The best part is that this story allows him to be the total bad-ass that he is. Oh yes, that's why he is my kind of guy. Reading this further proves to me that Russell Brooks is indeed a master of action and intrigue.

Overall thoughts? This is definitely a short story compilation worth buying, if only for the reason that it will make you want to read more from the fantastic Russell Brooks. If you are a fan of thrillers, you need to look more into his writing. Start by taking some time to dive into this perfectly bite-sized short stories. Think of them as appetizers!





FTC Disclosure: I received a review copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was not monetarily compensated for my opinion.

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails